My First Ever Ultra!

D33_Mag_shot

Again writing into Men’s Running, I was featured telling them of my first ever ultra marathon – Aberdeen’s D33!

Kicking off at 9am sharp, I managed to run 33 miles non stop from Aberdeen’s Duthie Park, along the Deeside Way route, though to Banchory and all the way back again. I was running really well for the first 19 miles and then an old ‘war injury’ ;o) started to niggle my calf muscle and I had to drop my pace from a sub 8 minute/mile to a 9:30min mile. I lost my target time of 4hrs 45mins but came over the line with a respectable 5hrs 8mins – 94th position out of 220 runners :o)

Our hotel room only had a shower, so to keep up with my long run rituals, I had to improvise on the ‘ice cold bath’ – so where better to go for a dip, than in the Duthie Park Pond! It was only 20 meters form the finish line and looked sooooo welcoming! :o/ ;o) Eil managed to take a snap shot of me from the car as passersby were left looking rather bemused by the whole thing. Although this does seem rather daft, my legs yesterday and today are as good as new! – honest!!! ;o)

The Rob Roy Challenge is next, so get your ‘loose change’ ready for some sponsorship and some great charitable causes! ;o)

D33 Team SupportD33 FinishD33_Iced_BathD33 Celebration

Here’s the Letter that I sent to Men’s Running magazine that they featured on that page…
…MR Team, I thought I’d share with you some pictures of my first ever ultra marathon that took place on Saturday 17th, The D33 Ultra, in Aberdeen.
>>
Kicking off at 9am sharp, on a bonny, sunny saturday morning, I managed to run 33 miles non stop from Aberdeen’s Duthie Park, along the Deeside Way route, though to Banchory and all the way back again.
This is a spectacular route and the Grampian area is one of particular beauty that accompanies you the whole way out and back again. I would recommend this event to anyone looking at starting out on their first ultra challenges, as this route is probably the flattest ones you will find and the race support is fantastic to boot!
One of my ultra running heroes, Andrew Murray (previously featured in your magazine Scotland to Sahara runner) was also going to be taking part in this event, and I was looking forward to saying hi to the man but sadly he wasn’t able to run, due to being hit by a taxi the night before! He did manage to give us all some motivational words, at the start of the race, by wishing us well and foremost, telling us to enjoy it, and that we all did!
>>
I was running really well for the first 19 miles and then an old ‘war injury’ started to niggle my calf muscle and I had to drop my pace from a sub 8 minute/mile to a 9:30min mile. I lost my target time of 4hrs 45mins but came over the line with a respectable 5hrs 8mins – 94th position out of over 200 runners. The marker has been set for next year!
>>
Our hotel room only had a shower, so to keep up with my long run rituals, I had to improvise on the ‘ice cold bath’ – so where better to go for a dip, than in the Duthie Park Pond! It was only 20 meters form the finish line and looked sooooo welcoming! :o/ ;o) Eil managed to take a snap shot of me from the car as passersby were left looking rather bemused by the whole thing. Although this does seem rather daft, my legs yesterday and today are as good as new! – honest!!! ;o)
>>
Thought you might also appreciate the originality of the medals, for this event, this year’s medals were made from reclaimed wood from hurricane Bawbag and scribed with the D33 mark. One of the best medals I’ll ever have worked hard to have achieved – oh, along with the bespoke bottle of D33 Blonde Ale as well!
>>
Running, Beer & Chopped Wood – a fantastic combination!
>>
>> Ross

Leave a Reply

